top of page

Branding

I started thinking about how to create an identity for my project, so I began the process of branding. I wanted to create something that expressed the project well and could be used within the project booklet.


I started by thinking about the core of the project, what it's about, connection. Though I didn't want to call it just that, I decided to look at synonyms for connection, communication and community. Writing the ones down that linked well with the project. After jotting down some ideas, I narrowed it down and asked others about what they thought of the name, I wanted to hear what it made them think of. I then narrowed it down to 'nexus' and 'affinity'.


I then moved onto looking at a logo and a colour scheme for the project. I started by experimenting with typefaces I'd like to use, testing the two options for the names and seeing how they looked with other fonts used within the booklet. It was after I did this I settled on the name 'Affinity'. Defined as "a natural liking for and understanding of someone or something", affinity links well to connection between two people.


After deciding on the name, I started to play with colour schemes. I wanted neutrals with a hint of colour. By this time I'd already started my booklet and began using a teal and blush colour but I wasn't fully set on this, so began experimenting with colour schemes to see what works well together. After I chose my colour scheme I updated my booklet.


Finally I began creating a logo. Thinking about how I could show a link between people visually, I thought about showing networking and sharing symbols. I liked the visuals of network lines and webs but felt it needed to be more enclosed. I dabbled with using the shapes of the devices and tried layering them with the networking lines until I found something I liked.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page