top of page

Coding Updates

For the past week or so I've been trying to fix the issues I've been having with one of my Arduino boards. One of my boards would not show on the IDE although it was getting powered. So I couldn't upload any new code. I tried the reset button, looking at the drivers on my laptop but nothing seemed to work. I emailed Ali asking for advice on the problem and he suggested to remove everything else from my board and see if that would help in case it was a wiring issue rather than a faulty board.


After desoldering my components from my board I tried connecting it again with no luck, so I assumed I had a faulty board but I tried hitting the reset button (a good many times) to see if it made a difference. Since it didn't work before I didn't have much hope but apparently hitting the reset button at least 20 times worked. So my board started connecting to my laptop again but a new issue was raised. It refused to compile any code. Again after trying different things, Ali suggested I uninstall and reinstall the board. Thankfully this worked. If there's one thing I've learned about the board I'm using it can be temperamental and others have told me the same, but I'm glad I know how to deal with its issues now.


One of the things I've been trying to figure out in the past couple of weeks is the actual code for the project. Incorporating the button has been a challenge surprisingly, it seems to stop the sensor taking readings in general and doesn't actually do anything... I've thought of different ways to get it to work with no luck, I thought maybe it was the order of the code but changing it hasn't made a difference. So I plan to keep looking at this until I get at least this component working.


Another thing I've been trying to get working is Bluetooth, so I've tried connecting the boards together, again without luck I think. I can get the board with the colour sensor to attach to my phone but haven't been to express the data on my other board. Hopefully more playing about with the boards will make a difference as I plan to spend Monday and Tuesday focusing on code so I can fully assemblies my devices.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page