top of page

Making The Receiver

This part when through a few renditions, I started sketching ideas down in my sketchbook but couldn't decide what I could make with the materials I had. I knew I wanted to use fabric and wanted it to link with the sender aesthetically but I was unsure of the route to go. I started by experimenting with just fabric and trying a combination of fabric and card. I made a cube structure out of just fabric but didn't think it linked well with the sender and it gave me more of the impression it was a lamp, rather than a notification device.


Moving on from there I decided try making something from the same materials as the sender. I had a small amount of birch left, plenty of fabric and no acrylic. After trying to create a small square device, I decided that it wasn't right for the receiver. I then had the idea for the hexagon with both the wood and plastic on the front. Since I had no frosted acrylic I frosted some thin clear bits of plastic I had laying around and built it up to be the same thickness of the wood (front, back and sides, with a hollow centre). I made the base from thin mdf covered in fabric and the sides from card covered in fabric.



Ideally for the receiver I would have liked to have the base and the two sides that connected to the wooden feature on the front, but I'm okay with how my model turned out in the meantime. I'd also have liked having a solid piece of perspex on the front rather than my DIY frosted sheet plastic, although I must say it's more solid than I thought it would be! Again for the sides I would have liked using something more solid with the fabric.





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page